All Soul’s Night


SKU: 9781943910359 Category: Tags: , ,


All Soul’s Night by Hugh Walpole

Tradepaperback – Valancourt Books – May2016 – 226 pages

Hugh Walpole (1884-1941) was one of the most popular and prolific English authors of his time, best known for his historical fiction and novels for boys. But it was in the field of the macabre and supernatural that Walpole was at his best, and this collection of sixteen tales contains many of his finest, including the classic werewolf story ‘Tarnhelm’; the oft-anthologized ‘The Little Ghost’; ‘The Snow’, a chilling story of vengeance from beyond the grave; and perhaps the highlight of the collection, ‘The Silver Mask’, which one critic has called ‘a masterpiece, a classic example of how a tale can be truly terrible and ghostly with no ghost and only the wispiest hint of the supernatural.’

This new edition, which reprints the unabridged text of the 1933 first edition and includes a new introduction by John Howard, will allow a new generation of readers to discover an unjustly forgotten master of the eerie and macabre.

The Whistle, The Silver Mask, The Staircase, A Carnation for an Old Man, Tarnhelm; or The Death of My Uncle Robert, Mr. Oddy, Seashore Macabre – A Moment’s Experience, Lilac, The Oldest Tallend, The Little Ghost, Mrs. Lunt, Sentimental but True, Portrait in Shadow, The Snow, The Ruby Glass, Spanish Dusk


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “All Soul’s Night”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *