1636: Flight of the Nightingale


Out of stock

SKU: 9781982125066 Category: Tag:


1636: Flight of the Nightingale by David Carrico

Paperback – Baen – Nov 2020 – 439 pages

Two short novels set in Eric Flint’s Ring of Fire series —

Time waits for no one, but for the residents of 17th-century Europe, the future comes calling – ahead of time! Due to a temporal disturbance known as the Ring of Fire, the 20th-century town of Grantville, West Virginia, finds itself transported through time and space to Central Europe in the year 1632. Massive political and social upheavals take place. But change happens on a smaller, human scale, too.

In “The Flight of the Nightingale” down-timer Francesca Caccini is inspired by the arrival of Grantville to seek a different destiny from what would have been her lot in a future without the up-timer intrusion – that is, to die with a reputation as a brilliant composer and performer, but to later be essentially forgotten by all but the cognoscenti. And in “Bach to the Future,”Johann and his brothers commit themselves to preserve, protect, and promote their family’s heritage from the future, even if in this future there will be no Johann Sebastian Bach!


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “1636: Flight of the Nightingale”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *