The Anniversary of Never


SKU: 9781783807499 Category: Tag:


The Anniversary of Never by Joel Lane

Trade Paperback – Swan River Press – Sep 2021 – 130 pages

“It was like a black and white film, or someone else’s memory” — “Crow’s Nest”

Joel Lane’s award-winning stories have been widely praised, notably by other masters of weird fiction such as M. John Harrison, Graham Joyce, and Ramsey Campbell. His tales also regularly appeared in the “best of” annual anthologies of Ellen Datlow, Karl Edward Wagner, and Stephen Jones. With this posthumous collection, Lane continues his unflinching exploration of the human condition.

The Anniversary of Never is a group of tales concerned with the theme of the afterlife,” observed Lane, “and the idea that we may enter the afterlife before death, or find parts of it in our world.” These stories of love and death will burrow deep into the reader’s mind and impregnate it with a vision often as bleak as the night is black.

“Introduction” by Nicholas Royle
“Sight Unseen”
“Crow’s Nest”
“All the Shadows”
“Midnight Flight”
“Ashes in the Water” with Mat Joiner
“For Their Own Ends”
“Bitter Angel”
“After the Fire”
“The Annniversary of Never”
“The Messenger”
“For Crying Out Loud”
“All Dead Years”
“Some of the Fell”


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Anniversary of Never”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *